From the Press box

Nicole Carroll: A one woman mission to make a name in football

The joys and sorrows of football betting!

leave a comment »

Betting isn’t something I actually encourage a massive amount, but I do like a flutter on the horses and the football. My horse racing bets are usually not too bad, and I had the winner of the Grand National and the Cheltenham Gold Cup winner.

Football betting is another story though. Betting shops can be intimidating places, and it’s only this season that I’ve got into putting a quid or two on. If I’m not at the home game, I’ll pick up a weekend sheet and have an accumulator of five teams or so for a quid, not that I’ve ever won. If I’m at the home match, I always have a quid on a first scorer and scoreline prediction, and up until now I haven’t been close.

Well. Until yesterday.

This crumbled betting sheet is what I picked for yesterdays bet:

If thats completely unviewable to you, it says: Blues 2 – 1, Jerome FGS (First Goal Scorer).

My brother is a big better, and was sat just two rows infront of me at the game. When the first goal went in, I bashed him on the head and gave him some stick about being rubbish at betting. Second goal went in, and I did a little dance as everyone sang for Christian Benitez. As the ball went to Thompson in the 87th, although I was screaming no as the ball went in, my betting brain was doing a little dance.

This is alright until I tried to cash it in last night, and as the goal was recorded by some as an own goal, I was told it would be another 24 hours before they’d decide. I’ve checked out a few message boards, and they are claiming that Ladbrokes are paying out on the bet. Lets hope this is the start of my rub of the green on the football, and that I’ll be a very rich girl by the end of the World Cup. If not, I’ll be one very grumpy bear until I do finally win my first football bet.

Written by Nicole Carroll

May 2, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

